Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

March 19, 2025

Dr. Sara Brenner Acting Commissioner Food and Drug Administration 10903 New Hampshire Avenue Silver Spring, MD 20993

Dear Dr. Brenner,

We are writing to you in support of the National Chicken Council's February 20, 2025 petition¹, which would reverse or modify the Food & Drug Administration's (FDA) 2009 Shell Egg Rule² ("the rule"), which has forced the broiler industry to throw away perfectly good eggs for no good reason. This rule made little sense when it was adopted during the Obama Administration, and it makes even less sense now as the country finds itself with skyrocketing egg prices due to the ongoing egg shortage.

The rule requires the broiler industry to discard eggs that don't meet certain refrigeration requirements. Those requirements make sense for table eggs, which are raw products, but the rule makes no sense for broiler eggs, which are pasteurized. The FDA and the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) said as much in a 2020 joint risk assessment³, which concluded that broiler eggs present an extremely low public risk due to the "extremely high pasteurization efficiency" of the egg-breaking pasteurization process.

Under the current rule, the industry is throwing away about 400 million perfectly good eggs each year at a time when prices are too high, and supermarket shelves are too empty. We therefore urge you to grant the petition in order to put those eggs in the market and reduce egg prices.

Sincerely,

losh Riley

Member of Congress

Dusty Johnson

Member of Congress

¹ https://www.nationalchickencouncil.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/02/NCC-Petition-to-FDA_Surplus-Broiler-Hatching-Eggs_Feb2025.pdf

² https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-I/subchapter-B/part-118

 $^{^3\} https://www.nationalchickencouncil.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/02/RiskAssessment_Eggs_Apr2020.pdf$

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

Andy Harris, M.D. Member of Congress

Kristen McDonald Rivet Member of Congress

Ben Cline Member of Congress

Sarah McBride Member of Congress

Gary J. Palmer Member of Congress

Robert B. Aderholt Member of Congress

Robert B. Adambal to

Tony Wied

Member of Congress

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

Pat Harrigan
Member of Congress

Steve Womack Member of Congress

Andrew S. Clyde Member of Congress

Michael V. Lawler Member of Congress